Review: Hotel for the Lost by Suzanne Young.

Title – Hotel for the Lost
Author – Suzanne Young
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 304 pages
Publication Date – October 4th 2016 by Simon Pulse
ISBN – 9781481423014
My Rating – ★★★/5

Audrey and her family plan to spend one night at the Hotel Ruby. But this hotel can be intoxicating and soon they find themselves extending their stay as they find endless distractions – including Elias Lange, one of the hotel’s guests. The Hotel Ruby is as strange as it is mysterious. There are fancy parties every night in the ballroom that are invitation only and Audrey seems to be the only guest who doesn’t have an invitation.

The more Audrey learns about the hotel and it’s staff and guests, the more curious she is. Audrey finds herself pulled in different directions – her past and an overwhelming loss, a future that holds little happiness and a place in-between that is so much more that it seems.

I received a copy of Hotel for the Lost from Simon and Schuster Australia to review.

I hadn’t heard a lot about this when I started it. I knew one person that had read it but that’s it. The biggest problem I had with this is the tag line on the cover pretty much gives cx-pbfuvqaayhulthe story away, which was disappointing but there are still some pretty good twists to the story.

Aside from the fact I could see the ending coming before I even started the book and the insta-love between some characters, I actually enjoyed this more than I thought I would. I wanted to know more about Audrey, her family and the people in the hotel. Even though the whole thing was a little weird.

Hotel for the Lost is a little over 300 pages but there was still a lot going on with the hotel and the people living there. And there was definitely a lot going on in Audrey’s life. Which is why I think the book held my attention even though I could see what was going to happen at the end. I mean, I didn’t see how it was going to happen but I still figured out what was going on.

I usually don’t like couples with insta-love because I find it cheesy and cringe-worthy but for some reason I liked Audrey and Elias. I really felt for what Audrey and her family were going through and thought what happened to them was so sad. I already knew what Audrey would choose before she did. It was sad and I’m not sure I agree with her choice but at the same time I totally understand why she made that decision. Audrey is obviously a better person than I am.

Hotel for the Lost was predictable from the start and kind of cheesy at times but I feel like sometimes it’s good to break up all the fantasy books with a fast and cheesy read. And I did like this more than I thought I would.

*Thank you Simon and Schuster Australia for sending me a copy of Hotel for the Lost to review*

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

