WWW Wednesday [December 21st 2016] –

cf9fcbruiaesbzv

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading –    c0eakynuaaeqnhq
I started my re-read of The Jewel yesterday. I loved the first two books in this trilogy but I needed to read them both again before I can start the last one, The Black Key.

I’ve read over 100 pages and am loving it. Again. I forgot a lot of what happened in this but I do remember the ending.

I did a review of this and the second book, The White Rose, last year so I won’t be reviewing them again. I can’t wait to see how this trilogy will end when I finally get to the last book though. cz0qjfquqaahhtz

Recently Finished –
I recently read Small Great Things by Jodi Picoult. It’s been so long since I read one of her books. I own most of her books but there’s only one I haven’t read. I think it’s called Leaving Time.

Anyway, I loved this book. It made me both angry, sad and frustrated at the same time. Jodi always writes about controversial topics and this one is no different. Small Great Things is about racism. And I will admit that I never saw myself as racist but this definitely opened my eyes to what African-American people go through in America. But I’m pretty sure it happens here too.

I’ll be doing a full review on this soon but I highly recommend this book. And all her others. Jodi is one of my favourite authors. czwnuy9uqaafamg

I have finally read the screenplay/book of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and I loved it. I was glad I decided to wait until after I’d seen the movie to read it because it was like re-living it in a different way.

I’m not sure what I can say about this here without ruining my review (whenever I get around to writing it) but if you’ve seen the movie and loved it then I’d definitely read this. Plus, the cover is gorgeous and there are some amazing illustrations in the book too. I think it’s definitely one for any Harry Potter/Newt Scamander fan. czlsm9fusaaacsw

Someone I Wanted to Be was sent to me to review from Walker Books Australia. I wasn’t really sure what to expect of this but it was pretty good. I think I gave it three stars so it’s not the best book but not bad either.

I think it was because the main character, I’ve forgotten her name, really frustrated me with some of the things she did, or didn’t, do. I can’t remember how old she was, around fifteen I think, but she was doing some really stupid things. But, that’s teenagers for you I guess. Well, some teenagers anyway.

Reading Next –
I don’t have a photo of the book I’m reading next yet but I have one picked out. I’ll finally be starting The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh. I loved The Wrath and the Dawn when I read it last year and can’t wait to see how the duology ends.

I also wanted to say that I probably won’t be posting much over the next couple of weeks. I’m not sure yet. We’re in the middle of packing up the house we’re in now so we are reading to move early next year. And by early I mean 7/8th January early. I am going to try to keep up with my reviews though.

What are you reading at the moment?

– Aimee.

 

Leave a Reply

