Review: Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin.

Title – Blood for Blood
Series – Wolf by Wolf #2
Author – Ryan Graudin
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 496 pages
Publication Date – October 6th 2016 by Orion Children’s Books
ISBN – 9781780622057
My Rating – ★★★★/5

There would be blood. Blood for blood. Blood to pay. An entire world of it.

For the resistance in 1950s Germany, the war may be over, but the fight has just begun.

Death camp survivor Yael, who has the power to skinshift, is on the run: the world has just seen her shoot and kill Hitler. But the truth of what happened is far more complicated, and its consequences are deadly. Yael and her unlikely comrades dive into enemy territory to try to turn the tide against the New Order, and there is no alternative but to see their mission through to the end, whatever the cost.

But dark secrets reveal dark truths, and one question hangs over them all: how far can you go for the ones you love?

This gripping, thought-provoking sequel to Wolf by Wolf will grab readers by the throat with its cinematic writing, fast-paced action, and relentless twists.

I received a copy of Blood for Blood from Hachette New Zealand to review. I read the first book, Wolf by Wolf, last year. You can read my review for that here.

I loved Wolf by Wolf when I read it last year so I was excited to read the sequel. Especially because the ending of Wolf by Wolf was so good and unexpected.

It was really interesting to see Ryan’s take on history, what she thinks might have happened if Hitler won the war. With a twist. The experiments in this duology (is that the right word?) were so disturbing. I know there were Nazi doctors doing experiments on real cyjo-suaaa1aufpeople during the war. But I have to say the results of the experiments in these books made the story very interesting. Knowing that there were people that actually experimented on human beings is disgusting and so sad.

I really liked Yael and Luca in the first book and I loved them in Blood for Blood. I didn’t think I could like Luca anymore than I did in Wolf for Wolf but I was wrong. And Yael, she’s so young but so strong. She’d lost so much in her life but was prepared to risk everything to do the right thing and stop the evil that was happening.

Felix really frustrated me in this book. I think he frustrated me in the first book but I can’t remember. I mean, I understand why he did the things he did but even when he had his doubts about what was really going on and that he was doing the right thing he made the wrong choice. Like I said, I do get why he did it but he just frustrated me so much.

Blood for Blood was so sad. It not only goes into Yael’s past and the experiments but there was also more Luca and Felix’s pasts too and what happened to make them the people they are and the choices they made.

Although I didn’t like some of the things that happened in this book and it made me cry, I really liked it and couldn’t put it down. I definitely recommend both Wolf by Wolf and Blood for Blood. They’re are amazing books.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

If you’ve read either of these books let me know what you thought of them in the comments.

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: Blood for Blood by Ryan Graudin.

Leave a Reply

