December Book Haul.

c1ca5rfuqaat0iw

It’s been so long since I’ve posted to my blog. I thought it was about time I got back into it. I’m not sure how often I’ll post because there’s a lot happening right now but I’ll try to start reviewing again soon.

Anyway, onto my December book haul. 1

So the first book I received in December was from Penguin Random House New Zealand. I’ve never read a book my Tahereh Mafi before. I keep hearing about her Shatter Me series though. I’m not really sure why I wanted to read this but it stood out last year. And the cover is beautiful. This is on my TBR for January and I’ll definitely be reading it soon.

This follows Alice, a colourless girl in a world of colour as she looks for her missing father. That’s all I can remember at the moment but I think there’s also magic in this book as well. I’m looking forward to reading it.

The second book I received from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to review. Norse Mythology 2is out sometime this month so I’ll hopefully be reading it soon.

I’ve also never read a book by Neil Gaiman before but I wanted to read this because it’s about Norse myths which I’ve been getting into a lot recently.

I think this just tells you about the Norse myths but I could be wrong. I love the cover of this too with a beautiful take on  Mjölnir. Well, I’m assuming it’s  Mjölnir on the cover. I haven’t actually had a proper look at the book. It’s packed in a box at the moment because we’re moving and it sucks. I hate not having my books. Anyway, I can’t wait to read this.

3

This is another book from Penguin Random House New Zealand. I think Flora, the main character, has memory problems. As in, she doesn’t retain new memories. I think. Or she doesn’t remember anything? I don’t know.

But then Flora meets someone and remembers them the next day. Which never happens.

When I received a copy of the book to review it also came with a letter (I don’t know if it’ll be in the book) that was written to Flora from her mother and at the bottom someone has written “can I trust mum?” That has my really wanting to read it soon. I think I put this on my January TBR too.

Hachette New Zealand sent me an ARC of Caraval to review. I’ve wanted to read this for so 4long now and I cannot even remember what it’s about. I know it’s meant to be like The Night Circus but I’ve never read that.

I think I’ve put think on my TBR for January but I can’t remember. I know I want to read it after Furthermore but I’m tossing up between this and Frostblood and I don’t know which one to pick…

I keep hearing good things about this which makes me want to read it soon. I guess I’ll have to look up which one comes out first, Frostblood or Caraval, and read that one first. That will make it so much easier on me. Yes, that’s what I’ll do. 5

Hachette New Zealand also sent me a copy of Who’s Afraid Too? to review. I really liked the first book, Who’s Afraid?, when I read it last year and am looking forward to seeing what’s going to happen in this book.

I don’t have this on my TBR at the moment because I don’t know how many books I’ll get to read this month with all the crap that’s going on but if I can fit it in I definitely will.

I don’t remember a lot about the first book except some of the ending and I can’t just go look because that’s in a box too. So I’ll just have to pick it up and see if things come back to me.

HarperCollins New Zealand sent me a copy of Lady Helen and the Dark Days Pact to 6review. This is the sequel to Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club.

I enjoyed the first book when I read it earlier this year and am looking forward to reading this. But, this is another one where I can’t remember what happened in the first book and it’s also it a box. Moving is so frustrating and annoying. Not to mention stressful.

Anyway…. I hope there will be a recap or something I can read before I pick this up. If you know where I can read that let me know. Or if you know how it ended please let me know!! I can remember where Helen is but not why… 7

HarperCollins New Zealand also sent me a copy of The Watcher to review. This is like Girl on the Train, as in a psychological thriller. I love psychological thrillers. Especially ones that have me guessing to the end.

This is another one where I can’t remember what it’s about but when I read the synopsis I c needed to read it.

I think I read somewhere that it’s been picked up to be a movie but that could be another book. I get them mixed up sometimes. I want to read this in January but I don’t know if I’ll have time.

My mother got me the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets for 8Christmas last year. She’s planning on getting me each one for Christmas now because apparently I’m really hard to buy for.

I have already read this edition and loved it just as much as the illustrated edition of Philosopher’s Stone. I did a review on that book last year. Not the story but the reasons I loved it. I don’t know if I’ll be doing the same thing for this or not. Let me know if you want to know what I thought of this one or not.

I cannot wait to get Prisoner of Azkaban!! Its my favourite book in the series so it’s going to be one of my most anticipated books of 2017. 9

Allen and Unwin New Zealand sent me a copy of the new edition of Quidditch Through the Ages to review.

I have read the original copy (it’s also in a box) but I can’t remember a lot about it. I don’t know how much different this one will be but I guess I’ll find out when I read it.

There are also new editions of The Tales of Beedle the Bard and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them coming out this year too. I’ve also read both of those but I’d love to read the new editions too.

My lovely friend Jenn sent me two books for Christmas. The first one was Frost like Night, 10the last book in the Snow like Ashes trilogy. I’ve only read the first book but I loved it and I cannot wait to read the other two books.

I’ll have to re-read Snow like Ashes first because I read it so fast that I can’t remember a lot of what happened but I did figure out the twist with Meira. That I remember.

I’ll probably be reading these later in the year. I have too many review books to read at the moment so I want to read those first and then I’ll be free to read some of my books. Like these and finally finishing the Throne of Glass series. Which I am so behind on. There’ll probably be another book released but the time I catch up. I have Queen of Shadows to read next.11

The other book Jenn sent me a copy of was Shiny Broken Pieces. This is the sequel to Tiny Pretty Things which I read last year and loved. I cannot wait to read this!!

I also don’t know when I’ll get to read this but I’m hoping maybe March/April. When we’ve hopefully moved into our new house. (It’s a long story.)

If you haven’t read Tiny Pretty Things I highly recommend finding a copy because it was sooo good!!

I received some bookmarks from Midnight Alley Designs last month. I’ve only got two photos to share here.c0aclzquaaagwry I haven’t taken a photo of the last one yet.

But anyway I bought myself a Ravenclaw bookmark. I didn’t have one and I saw this on their Instagram and could not resist.

I’ll definitely be using this when I re-read the series later this year.

There are some other Harry Potter inspired bookmarks but this one I loved. I have ordered another one but it hasn’t arrived yet.

The second one I received in a rep package. I’ve been one of the reps for Midnight Alley c0gw8yzuaaavwcwDesigns for a few months now. They had a different name but changed it and their site late last year.

If you want to check out their website you can click here. To see their full range of bookmarks go to products and all their bookmarks will come up.

They’re currently having an end of year sale so if you use the code HEY2017 at the checkout you’ll receive 40% off your order. There’s only two more days left for the sale so get in quick.

So that’s my December book haul. If you’ve read all of my rambling then thank you!!

What books did you get in December?

– Aimee.

6 thoughts on “December Book Haul.

  1. EPIC Haul! Neil Gaiman’s Norse Mythology was my Waiting On Wednesday pick for last week. This is the first photo I see of the hardcover & it looks as stunning as i’d imagined it, enjoy! I also couldn’t resist picking up Furthermore this past October at Bookcon, the cover is lovely & I can’t pass up a Alice & Wonderland re-telling EVER! lol. Happy Reading 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

