Review: The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen.

Title – The Invasion of the Tearling
Series – The Queen of the Tearling #2
Author – Erika Johansen
How I Got It – I bought it
Pages – 528 pages
Publication Date – July 16th 2015 by Bantam Press
ISBN – 9780593073124
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Kelsea Glynn is the Queen of the Tearling and despite her youth, she’s said to be fair, just and a powerful ruler.

But power is a double-edged sword and some actions can have horrible consequences. By trying to do the right things – stopping the human trafficking in her kingdom – Kelsea has crossed the Red Queen, a ruthless monarch who rules with dark magic and by spilling c0y0uolucai9s83blood. The Red Queen’s army is ready to invade the Tearling and it seems nothing has the power to stop it.

Yet, there was a time before the Crossing and that’s where Kelsea finds a strange and dangerous ally. Someone who could hold the key to the fate of the Tearling and Kelsea’s soul. But time is running out…

This is the second book in the Queen of the Tearling trilogy. I loved the first book and have read it twice so I was excited to finally pick up the second book. You can read my review for The Queen of the Tearling here.

The Queen of the Tearling was recommended to me a couple of years ago. The person recommended after she heard Emma Watson was going to play Kelsea in a movie adaptation but that’s never happened. I’m glad I read the book though because I loved it.

I couldn’t remember how long after the first book that The Invasion of the Tearling picked up but I don’t think it was that long. I have a feeling the Red Queen wouldn’t wait that long to get her hands on Kelsea’s jewels. Or get her revenge for what Kelsea did. But I could be wrong.

This book was mostly dealing with the consequences of Kelsea’s decisions in the first book and the actions the Red Queen was taking. But there was this weird twist with the visions Kelsea was having of a woman who lived before the Crossing which really confused me for a while. I wanted to know how they connected to the story but at first I was just like “what the hell is going on?”

There were a couple of twists in this book. I was not expecting the one about the Red Queen’s true identity. I think that was such a great twist and I can’t wait to find out what Kelsea does with it in the next book. If she does anything about it… And I really liked reading about life before the Crossing, even though I was really confused why those chapters were in this book. I’m not sure how any of that will help Kelsea but I can’t wait to find out.

The ending of The Invasion of the Tearling was so good. I can’t wait to read The Fate of the Tearling soon-ish.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

