Review: The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh.

Title – The Rose & the Dagger
Series – Renee Ahdieh
Author – The Wrath & the Dawn #2
How I Got It – From the library
Pages – 416 pages
Publication Date – April 26th 2016 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN – 9780399171628
My Rating – ★★★★★/5

In a land on the verge of war, Sharhrzad is forced to leave the man she loves, Kahlid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She used to think Khalid was a monster, a man who willingly killed his wives and caused so much heartbreak and pain – but as Shahrzad got to know Khalid, she discovered an extraordinary man and a love she couldn’t deny. But a horrible curse threatens to keep Shazi and Khalid apart forever.

Shazi is now reunited with her family, who have taken refuge in the desert where a force is gathering against Khalid. A deadly force that’s determined to destroy Khalid’s empire and is commanded by Shazi’s spurned childhood sweetheart. Stuck in the middle of those she loves, Shazi chooses to act. Using this magic hidden within her as a guide, she sets out on her own to end the terrible curse and the brewing war once and for all. To succeed, she must avoid enemies of her own to stay alive.

I read The Wrath and the Dawn last year and loved it so I was really excited to see how c0t0f_7ucaaj4m6Shazi and Khalid’s story ended. You can read my review for the first book here.

I think this picked up pretty much where The Wrath and the Dawn left off. Shazi is now with her sister as they care for their father. He’s recovering from the crazy storm he unleashed as a distraction so they could rescue his daughter. But what her father and Tariq, her childhood friend and one of the men that loves her, don’t count on is Shazi’s love for Khalid and how far she’s willing to go to save him.

I read somewhere that these books are a retelling of A Thousand Nights, which I’ve never read. But they did remind me of Beauty and the Beast a little. I don’t know if anyone else has picked up on this but with Shazi seeing through Khalid’s evil exterior to the real Khalid hidden underneath I kept being reminded of Belle and her Beast. I haven’t actually looked any of this up, it’s all what I thought while I was reading the books.

I found The Rose and the Dagger very fast paced and very frustrating in places. I especially found Tariq and Sharzi’s father frustrating. They both claimed to love her but didn’t trust her judgement of Khalid or her plans. I mean, yes, they had good reason to hate him but so did Shazi and instead she fell in love. And they didn’t even stop to ask her why. They could both see that what they were doing was hurting someone they claimed to love but did that stop them? Okay, maybe eventually but still… I loved Shazi’s sister though. I can’t remember her name.

I have loved both The Wrath and the Dawn and The Rose and the Dagger. They have both been so addictive and I found them very hard to put down. The writing and storytelling were so magical. I cannot wait for Renee’s new book to come out. I’m sure that one will be amazing too.

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

