Review: The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr.

Title – The One Memory of Flora Banks
Author – Emily Barr
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 303 pages
Publication Date – January 12th 2017 by Penguin
ISBN – 9780141368511
My Rating – ★★★/5

“How do you know who to trust when you can’t even trust yourself?”

Flora has amnesia. She can’t remember her day-to-day life – the jokes her friends make, instructions her parents give her or how old she is.

Then one night she kisses someone she shouldn’t and remembers. It’s the first thing she’s remembered since she was ten. But now the boy is gone.

I received a copy of The One Memory of Flora Banks from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review.c2pnt-rwgaapowu

I thought this sounded really interesting when I first read the synopsis. When the book arrived it came with a letter, which is from the book, and it made me want to read it even more. I did enjoy the book but there was one thing that annoyed me. Flora was very repetitive and I get why but reading the same things over and over drove me crazy. I know Flora has amnesia so she has to read notes more than once. The thing that annoyed me the most was her memory of the kiss and how many times it was brought up. I felt like I read about it 100 times.

If you can get past that, or if it doesn’t annoy you like it did me, the story is pretty good and has some horrible twists. I did think it was a bit immature of Flora to think this guy she kissed was her “Prince Charming” and if she could find him then he’d fix her brain. But then again, her amnesia had something to do with that as well. In her head she’s not always seventeen. I just kept forgetting and that’s on me.

And don’t get me started on her parents. That’s one of the horrible twists to the book. In the letter that was sent from the publisher with the book it has something like ‘can I trust mum?’ at the bottom of the letter so it had me wanting to know why Flora wouldn’t be able to trust her own mother. I can see why her mother feels the way she does but her actions are so horrible I just couldn’t like her after that. And her father was just as bad. He may not have agreed with what his wife was doing but he didn’t do anything to stop it. Okay, that’s all I’m going to say about Flora’s parents because they make me so angry and I don’t want to spoil anything.

I thought Flora was kind of brave but also a little stupid. Taking off to find this guy she kissed when she knew her memory wasn’t exactly the best was so reckless and she could have ended up anywhere. But at the same time, Flora was really smart about how she did it.

As much as Flora’s habit of repeating herself annoyed me, I did like The One Memory of Flora Banks. I loved all the twists, some of which I didn’t see coming at all, and the ending was really good. I liked that it wasn’t a happily ever after but ended with hope. Sometimes I like when stories don’t end wrapped in a pretty bow. It feels unrealistic. This ending felt real and that’s what I loved about it.

I do recommend The One Memory of Flora Banks. Even though one part annoyed me I still loved the book and Flora. I really felt for her and what she was going through.

*Thank you Pengiun Random House New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

12 thoughts on “Review: The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr.

  1. The synopsis did sound promising but I loved your review! I hate books that are so repetitive. I think that was the biggest reason I disliked Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver. I felt like I was reading about this girl reliving her day over and over again for 400 pages.

    -Amber

    Liked by 1 person

    • There’s a reason that this is repetitive even though it did annoy me. Flora leaves herself post-it notes to reminduce herself to do things, where people are, who she is and because she forgets she read them they appear more than once in the book. But, it’s still a good story if you can get past that. And I did.

      I know what you mean about Before I Fall though. I figured there was a reason she kept reliving the same day but it was repetitive.

      Like

  2. I have the first few chapters of this in a sample so i’m going to give those a go and see if I can stand Flora XD The synopsis sounds awesome but I’m not to sure on how much I’ll actually like the book. Glad you enjoyed it even if things annoyed you, great review 🙂

    Like

    • I hope you do give it a go. The story is so much more than the things that annoyed me. Maybe I didn’t make that clear in my review. Which sucks because I did like Flora and it’s not her fault things get repeated a lot. There is a reason.

      Liked by 1 person

      • No your review is good! I’ve just seen a few other reviews that make me think it won’t be for me 🙈 I’ll give the sample chapters a go though and see how I like it 😊

        Like

      • Oh good 😊 There’s are some really good twists to the story that I didn’t want to talk about too much in my review in case I spoiled things but I thought they were great.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! The book was good. Like I said, there were things that annoyed me but I got past that once I understood Flora’s condition and the ways she had adapted over the years so that she can remember the things she needs to. And there were some greats twists to the story too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

