Review: The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling.

Title – The Tales of Beedle the Bard
Author – J.K. Rowling
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 144 pages
Publication Date – January 12th 2017 by Bloomsbury Childrens
ISBN – 9781408883099
My Rating – ★★★★/5

“Five enchanting fairy tales full of magic and trickery, The Tales of Beedle the Bard have been favourite bedtime reading in wizarding households for centuries.

Translated from the original runes by Hermione Granger with accompanying notes by Professor Albus Dumbledore, included by kind permission of the Hogwarts Archive.”

I received a copy of The Tales of Beedle the Bard from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to c2ugafeuoaac-5lreview.

This book, for those that don’t know, has short stories in it. I think there may be five, including The Three Brothers which was in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I think that and The Fountain of Fair Fortune are my favourites. There is one really weird/disturbing story – The Warlock and the Hairy Heart.

I think one of the best parts of this book, other than the stories and illustrations, are the notes written about the tales by Dumbledore. They are, sometimes, more entertaining than the short stories he’s writing about.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard is part of the Hogwarts Library collection with Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages. I reviewed Quidditch Through the Ages recently. You can find my review for that here. All three books have been re-released in new editions and I think both Quidditch Through the Ages and The Tales of Beedle the Bard have new illustrations but I don’t have the older editions to compare them to.

I really enjoyed reading The Tales of Beedle the Bard and I highly recommend it to any fan of the wizarding world. I can’t wait to get a copy of the new edition of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them to finish off the collection.

*Thank you Allen and Unwin New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling.

Leave a Reply

