Review: Caraval by Stephanie Garber.

Title – Caraval
Series – Caraval #1
Author – Stephanie Garber
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 402 pages
Publication Date – January 31st 2017 by Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN – 9781473629141
My Rating – ★★★★★/5

Scarlett has never left the tiny isle of Trisda where she was born. She’s been hoping that one day she’ll see the wonder of Caraval – a week-long performance that’s held once a year where the audience participates in the show. Caraval is full of magic, mystery and adventure. But for Scarlett and her sister Tella, it represents freedom and a way to escape their ruthless and abusive father.

When the sisters receive the invitations they’ve been waiting so long for, it seems like all their dreams have finally come true. But no sooner have they arrived at Caraval than Tella disappears, kidnapped by the show’s mastermind and organiser, Legend. Scarlett was told that everything that happens during Caraval isn’t real. But she soon becomes enmeshed in a dangerous game of love, heartbreak and magic. Real or not, Scarlett needs to find Tella before the game is over and her sister is gone forever.

I received a copy of Caraval from Hachette New Zealand to review. This is Stephanie’s C248nqDVIAAYtepdebut novel.

I was completely addicted to this book from the start. It’s full of magic and mystery and had so many twists, which I didn’t see coming at all. Caraval left me guessing until the very end. And speaking of the ending… Wow. I need the next book right now. It’s going to be a very long wait for the sequel…

I really liked Scarlett, she was so determined to save her sister no matter what happened to herself. Both Scarlett and Tella had been through a lot in their lives. Most of it from their twisted father. But through it all the sisters had each other. I loved their relationship and I hope to see more of it in the next book. Even though Tella wasn’t in Caraval much it felt like she was with how much Scarlett talked about her or thought about her.

I also liked Julian, who helped Scalett and Tella get to Caraval. It was obvious to me that there was more to Julian than he appeared but for some reason, despite everything, I still liked him. It was also obvious, from the start of Caraval anyway, that there was something between Scarlett and Julian.

This was an amazing debut novel. I could not put Caraval down and I cannot wait to read the sequel. I don’t know when it comes out but I expect it’ll feel like forever. If you haven’t read Caraval yet then I highly recommend finding a copy because it’s so worth it.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: Caraval by Stephanie Garber.

Leave a Reply

