Review: The Severed Land by Maurice Gee.

Title – The Severed Land
Author – Maurice Gee
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 187 pages
Publication Date – January 30th 2017 by Penguin Random House NZ
ISBN – 9780143770244
RRP – $19.99 NZD
My Rating – ★★★/5

Fliss sits in a tree watching as soldiers try to break through an invisible wall. Again. During an explosion, a drummer boy tries to escape. But before the soldiers can shoot him, Fliss reaches through the wall and pulls him to safety only to discover she’s saved an over-fed rich boy. Fliss is even more shocked to learn that she must go with him back through the wall on a mission to rescue the Nightingale.

The world they travel through is a dangerous one, full of thieves, slave masters and spies. It’s a world where the ruling families are caught in a deadly power struggle. Will Fliss and the drummer boy, Kirt, be able to get over their differences so they can rescue the Nightingale and make it back through the wall alive?

I received a copy of The Severed Land from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review. C379eVMVMAEwSNOI’ve never heard of Maurice Gee or read any of his books before this.

The Severed Land isn’t a very long book, only 187 pages, but it was full of adventure and a mysterious magic that not a lot of people know about. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started this because it’s so short and a stand alone but I really liked it.

Fliss was put in a situation she really didn’t want to be in, going back through the wall with Kirt, but she did it to save the home she’s made. Her strength with the things she had to put up with while she was with Kirt, like hate and the prejudices of others, was one of my favourite parts of the book. Fliss is someone who doesn’t put up with other people’s crap and that’s why I liked her so much. She didn’t back down when Kirt was being an ass and instead did the right thing.

Kirt on the other hand was a really annoying character throughout the book. He did seem to treat Fliss better eventually, when he realised that she wasn’t going to let him get away with treating her like a slave. But he was so focused of getting vengeance that it just go to be too much for me and I couldn’t like him.

I sort of wish The Severed Land was longer but there was so much that happened in it that I don’t feel like it needed to be longer. I just really liked Fliss and her friends, they were such colourful characters that I wanted to read more about them. It may be a short book but the story is so entertaining and full of adventure that it doesn’t really matter.

I really liked The Severed Land and it’s kind of made me want to read some more of Gee’s books. Maybe when I have more time to read.

*Thank you Penguin Random House New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

