Review: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard.

Title – King’s Cage
Series – Red Queen #3
Author – Victoria Aveyard
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 507 pages
Publication Date – February 9th 2017 by Orion Publishing
ISBN – 9781409151197
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Mare is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning and tormented by the mistakes she’s made. Mare is now at the mercy of a boy she thought she loved, a boy full of lies and betrayal.

Now, King Maven continues to weave his web, attempting to maintain his control over Norta and his people.

While Mare is trapped in Maven’s cage, the Scarlet Guard continue to expand and strategise. As they prepare for war, Cal is no longer able to hide in the shadows. He’ll stop at nothing to get Mare back. C58ib7WUwAAlX95

I received a copy of King’s Cage from Hachette New Zealand to review. This is the third book in the Red Queen series.

I loved King’s Cage but at the same time I did get a little bored with how long Mare was imprisoned by Maven. There was a lot going on at court and with the Scarlet Guard so that I wasn’t bored all the time. I think if Cameron didn’t have her own chapters in this book while Mare was with Maven I would have gone a little crazy. Then Evangeline had chapters later on in the book which I enjoyed. I liked getting to know both Cameron and Evangeline more and seeing a different side to both of them.

There were a few things revealed about Maven during King’s Cage. I thought Elara was an evil bitch before but now I’m even more happy that she fried. I can’t believe the things she did to Maven when he was a child. But I still can’t find myself feeling anything for him. Yes, Elara may have controlled him for years but he’s able to make his own decisions now and he’s still a twisted, cruel boy king.

King’s Cage was another amazing installment in the Red Queen series with another unforgettable ending. I have to say Victoria is a genius at cliffhangers. I can’t believe it’ll be a year until the next book comes out!

This was one of my most anticipated books of 2017 and the next book is definitely on my most anticipated list for 2018. It’s the first one on the list. The Red Queen series is one of my favourite series and I can’t wait for the next book to come out.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard.

Leave a Reply

