March Book Haul.

C8NVlWkUQAAj6Pu

Last month’s book haul was pretty good. I only bought one book and I won another in a competition on Facebook. The rest were kindly sent to me for review. So, I’ll just jump into it. 1

The first book I received last month was from Penguin Random House New Zealand. This book has 100 stories of women throughout history. I say women but there are some teens and even a five year old (I think she’s five…).

I’ve actually read this and I loved it. The writing is definitely for kids but if you can look past that then it’s a really good read, even for adults. There were a lot of women in this book that I’d never even heard of. I’ll talk more about this in my review which will hopefully be up soon. But if you were thinking of getting a copy of this then I highly recommend it.

I bought a copy of Big Little Lies when I saw it in a store here for $14.99. I wanted to see 2the TV show because it looks really good and I love Reese and Shailene. But I need to read the book first.

I haven’t read this yet and I don’t know a lot about it other than it follows the lives of three women in a small town and one of them is dead or dies.. That’s pretty much all I know. I’ve tried to stay away from spoilers because I want to find out what happens myself.

If I get a chance I might read this in April. I already have my TBR picked for the month but if I get through them then I might pick this up. 3

I received The Roanoke Girls from Hachette New Zealand to review. I actually started this today. I’m not that far in yet but it’s pretty good so far. It’s taken a disturbing twist but I’m interested to see where this is going.

Apparently everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl, but they don’t know what being a Roanoke girl means. The Roanoke girls either run away, or die. Lane made it out once, eleven years ago, but she came back because her cousin, Allegra, is missing. Is she strong enough to leave a second time? That’s what I remember from the synopsis. This book is kind of addicting already.

The next two books are from Walker Books Australia. Pointe, Claw follows two best 4friends. One is a ballerina and the other is turning into a bear.. So that’s all I remember about this. It stood out for a reason. A girl turning into a bear.. Should be an interesting read.

I think the last book I read with ballerinas was Tiny Pretty Things, which I loved. I still need to read the sequel to that.

But look at this cover! I love it. I don’t know why but I do. I can’t remember if I put this on my TBR for April. But if not hopefully I can squeeze it on there. It sounds different. 5

The second book I received from Walker Books Australia was What Girls Are Made Of. I think this follows a girl, Nina, as she tries to figure out love? Her mother told her that there’s no such thing as unconditional love. Now she’s trying to prove to her boyfriend why she deserves to be with him. Sounds like a healthy relationship. I have this on my TBR. It’s only 180+ pages so it shouldn’t take too long to read.

I won a copy of Lifeblood in a competition on Facebook. I haven’t actually read the first book in this series yet but I loved Gena’s other 6YA series, The White Rabbit Chronicles or something like that. So I’m sure I’ll love this when I eventually get around to reading them.

Lifeblood is an ARC so I’ll have to buy a copy of the finished book when I see it. I haven’t seen it in the stores I go to yet. I don’t actually know when this was released so I’ll just have to keep an eye out for it. Not like I’m in a rush though because I still need to read them and I have the ARC for now.

I love these covers. Although you can’t see the first book in this photo it’s just as good as Lifeblood. 7

Walker Books Australia also sent me a copy of Shadows on the Moon to review. This is a retelling of Cinderella set in fairy tale Japan. It’s a companion to Barefoot on the Wind which is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, also set in fairy tale Japan. Apparently you can read these in any order but Shadows on the Moon was written first.

I’ve actually read this and it was pretty good. Although I kept forgetting that it was a retelling of Cinderella and not Aurora. I don’t know why. I’ll be talking about this more in my review, which I’ll hopefully be posting soon.

Hardie Grant Egmont sent me a copy of The Secret Science of Magic to review. I’ve never 8read anything by Melissa Keil before but I liked this. It’s a contemporary, which I don’t read a lot of.

This follows Sophia and Joshua in their last year at high school. Sophia is a child prodigy but is freaking out about her future while Joshua isn’t giving his a second thought.

There’s more to it than that but I don’t know how to word it right now. I need coffee. It’s also diverse and by an Australian author, set in Melbourne I think. I’ll be reviewing this soon. I think the book came out today. 9

The next two books I received from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. The first is A Tragic Kind of Wonderful by Eric Lindstrom. I read his debut novel last year, Not if I See You First, and I loved it so I can’t wait to read this. Not that I can remember what it’s about. I think someone’s brother died or something like that. But I could be completely wrong.

I’m hoping to read this in April but I don’t know yet. We’ll see how the month goes. I think I can feel a slump coming already.

10The other book I received from HarperCollins New Zealand is Allegedly. I think this is a debut novel but I’m not really sure.

I finished reading Allegedly yesterday and it was sooooo good! It has an amazing twist to the story that I was not expecting but really should have seen coming. I gave it five stars.

This follows Mary, who was convicted of killing a three month old baby when she was nine. Now she’s seventeen (I think) and pregnant. The state wants to take her baby away from her. Mary never had the chance to set the record straight before, but now she needs to. For her and her baby. I’ll be reviewing this soon but it was really good, I could not put this down. 11

Hachette New Zealand also sent me a copy of New York 2140 to review. I really liked the sound of this when I read the synopsis and the cover is gorgeous but I was not expecting the book to be so long…

I think this follows some people that live in one of the skyscrapers in New York which has flooded and now each skyscraper is an island. Or the sea levels rose.. I’m not really sure. But I love these kinds of movies, like Day After Tomorrow and 2012, so I’m hoping this is just as good as watching a movie.

The next book was sent to me from Penguin Random House New Zealand. I wasn’t 12expecting this. It’s by a New Zealand author, which I don’t read a lot of so I’ll definitely give it a try.

But it follows a guy in a war. I don’t remember which war. I think it was WW2 but don’t hold me to that. I’m not really into reading books that focus on the war. I mean, I’ve read some but not a lot.

Anyway, I’ll definitely give this a chance. If I have time I might read it sometime this month. But I have other books to read first. It’s not a very long book so I should be able to read it quickly.  C8H_vdLVoAg_9R5

The last book I received this month was from Bloomsbury Australia. This is the new edition of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. It has six new beasts and a new forward by Newt Scamander which talks about his time in New York from the movie.

I’m hoping to read this after I finish The Roanoke Girls. I’ve read Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them before but I’m looking forward to reading about the new beasts and more about Newt. And I cannot wait for the next movie to come out. I hope Jacob is in it because he was hilarious. And the Niffler!

So that’s my March book haul. How many books did you get last month?

– Aimee.
 

5 thoughts on “March Book Haul.

Leave a Reply

