WWW Wednesday [April 5th 2017] –

Cf9fcBRUIAEsBZV

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading –   C8hgiEXVYAAGnvR
I started Black yesterday. I completely forgot I had this. It was in the one box I hadn’t unpacked so I found it last week. Anyway, I thought it was about time I read it.

This book follows Ebony Marshall, known as Black Marshall in her town. And not just because of her name… Some people in her town think she’s cursed. Three of her best friends have died in tragic accidents and now Black chooses to be alone, it’s easier that way. When her date to the formal ends up in the ICU things in town start to stir. Old secrets come out and terrifying dangers come after Black. Now she has to decide if she wants to run for her life or stay and fight.

I’ll probably be finished this today. I really want to know what going on. It’s so twisted and weird but in a good way. C8H_vdLVoAg_9R5

Recently Finished –
I read Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them yesterday. This is a new edition, with a foreword from Newt, six new beasts and beautiful illustrations.

I loved this edition, even more than the original. I think this is a must have for any Harry Potter fan. There are new editions of The Tales of Beedle the Bard and Quidditch Through the Ages too but this is definitely my favourite. I’ll be reviewing this soon. 3

I read this over the weekend and it was so disturbing but so good too. I couldn’t put it down. I don’t want to give too much away, I’ll be doing a review soon, but wow, this had a disturbing twist to the story.

I’ll give a short synopsis and then move onto the next book. Everyone wants to be a Roanoke girl. But they’re hiding a dark secret. Lane escaped eleven years ago but now she’s back. Her cousin is missing and she’s come back to help find her. But all the Roanoke girls either run away… or die. Is Lane strong enough to escape a second time? 10

I don’t even know what to say about Allegedly without giving anything away. This will be a hard one to review. Allegedly was another book I couldn’t put down, it was so freaking good.

This book follows Mary, who was convicted of killing a three month old baby when she was nine. She’s now out of baby jail and in a group home. Mary is also pregnant and the state wants to take her baby. It’s now time to set the record straight about what really happened that night. It’s the only way she’ll be able to keep her baby from being taken away.

7

Shadows on the Moon is a Cinderella retelling set in fairy tale Japan. I love fairy tale retellings, even though I’ve never read the original stories. Hopefully I will one day.

I really liked this book and the world it was set in. I’m not going to talk about this here because I still have to review it. But if you love retellings then this is definitely worth checking out.

I’ll hopefully be reading the companion novel, Barefoot on the Wind, soon. That is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast set in the same fairy tale Japan as Shadows on the Moon. I haven’t read the original story of that either though. 8

And the last book I read this week was The Secret Science of Magic. I’ve never read a book by Melissa Keil before but I enjoyed this. It’s not the kind of book I usually read but I think it’s good to change things up every now and then.

I’ll be reviewing this soon. It came out on the 1st here in New Zealand so I really need to get my review done soon. It’ll probably be up either Thursday or Friday NZ time. If I remember. Fingers crossed.

Reading Next –5
 I received this last month from Walker Books Australia to review. I think this came out on the 1st too but I’m not too sure.

I can’t really remember what this is about except it follows a sixteen year old as she tries to figure out the conditions of love. Or something like that anyway.

What have you read recently?

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday [April 5th 2017] –

Leave a Reply

