Review: The Black Key by Amy Ewing.

Title – The Black Key
Series – The Lone City #3
Author – Amy Ewing
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 304 pages
Publication Date – October 6th 2016 by Walker Books
ISBN – 9781406347593
My Rating – ★★★★/5

“Fighting for freedom. Torn between conflicting loyalties. Desperate to save her sister.”

The Society of the Black Key are preparing to attack they royalty and Violet has a very important part in the attack. She’s in charge of leading the other surrogates as they infiltrate the auction and change the Lone City forever.

But Hazel, Violet’s sister, is being held prisoner at the Palace of the Lake. Violet is torn between helping the Society and saving her sister.

I received a copy of The Black Key from Walker Books Australia to review. This is the last C406YMxUMAAbrvFbook in the Lone City trilogy.

I’ve really enjoyed the first two books in the trilogy so I was excited to finally see how the story was going to end but sad at the same time.

I loved the story behind how/why the surrogates have their abilities. I don’t want to give too much away for those that haven’t read these books yet but I loved that after Violet and Raven told the surrogate they could get to the truth that they were willing to fight the royalty.

Speaking of Violet and Raven, I loved their friendship. I wish they were together more but I get why they couldn’t be. They were more like sisters than just friends. Violet’s sister, Hazel, was a great character too. I was glad she was in The Black Key more than the other books, even though the circumstances were horrible. The love Violet has for Hazel had her risking everything to get her out of the Palace of the Lake and Garnet’s mother. Hazel was one of my favourite characters, as well as Violet, Raven and Garnet.

The Black Key was a great conclusion to this trilogy. I do wish that the ending was a little longer or showed what happened a year later. It would have been great to know if Violet, Orchre and Hazel ever saw their mother again or what happened after the attack. I guess I’ll have to use my imagination..

I’ve enjoyed the Lone City trilogy. There were some great cliffhangers at the end of both The Jewel and The White Rose. This is one of my favourite trilogies. I’d definitely recommend this to fans of dystopian books and strong female characters.

*Thank you Walker Books Australia for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee

Leave a Reply

