Review: The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles.

Title – The Edge of Everything
Author – Jeff Giles
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 357 pages
Publication Date – February 9th 2017 by Bloomsbury Children’s
ISBN – 9781408869079
My Rating – ★★★/5

“X knows only obedience – has seen only hatred. Until one bright soul pierces the darkness…

Zoe rages against a world turning to ice. Her father’s body lies unrecovered in the wilderness and no one seems to care.

X and Zoe were never meant to meet. But when their worlds collide, they dare to love… They stand on the edge of everything – and risk it all.”

I received a copy of The Edge of Everything from Allen and Unwin New Zealand to c5edcoyukae99bbreview.

I didn’t know what to expect when I started this, maybe a contemporary, but it was definitely not that. It has a weird but interesting twist to the story. And even though it wasn’t exactly what I was expecting I did like the story. I actually liked how different it was.

I did think the ‘love’ between Zoe and X was a bit fast considering they didn’t know each other and hadn’t spent a lot of time together. I don’t do the whole ‘love at first sight/can’t live without you’ cheesy storylines anymore. I was into that stuff when I was a teenager but not anymore. Kind of embarrassing to admit… I don’t think Zoe and X were as bad as some characters I’ve read but it was a little cringe worthy at times. I did like Zoe though.

There was a twist to this story that I didn’t see coming. It was a great twist to the story, even if it was still a bad thing to happen. I really like that this took me by surprise because not a lot of books can do that.

I liked Zoe’s family, her mum and brother, and X’s friends. They were all really great character and all funny in their own ways.

I was not expecting what happened at the end of the book. In a good way though. If it had ended the way I was expecting it to it would have been so boring and predictable. This was a lot better.

I enjoyed The Edge of Everything. It was weird, but also unique and I was definitely interested in finding out X’s story.

*Thank you Allen and Unwin New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles.

Leave a Reply

