Review: Black by Fleur Ferris.

Title – Back
Author – Fleur Ferris
How I got it – From the publisher
Publication date – July 22nd 2016 by Random House Australia
ISBN – 9781925324976
Pages – 276 pages
RRP – $24.00
My rating – ★★★★/5

Ebony Marshall is in her final year of high school and can’t wait to leave the town where everyone calls her “Black.” Because of her name… But there is another reason – most people in town think Black Marshall is cursed.

Three of her friends have died in tragic accidents. After Oscar died, the whispers started. Black is used to being on her own – life is just easier that way.

So when her date to the formal ends up in intensive care something in the quiet town starts to stir. Old secrets and terrifying dangers are coming after Back. If she can put all the pieces together she may be able to figure out who her real enemies are. Black needs to decide if she’s going to run away or stay and fight.

I received a copy of Black from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review. I’ve C8hgiEXVYAAGnvRnever read a book by Fleur before but I’ll definitely be looking for her other book, Risk, now.

I didn’t go into this with any expectations so this book was very surprising. But in a good way. This book was so disturbing and dark but I just didn’t want to put it down. I needed to know what the hell was going to happen to Black.

I’ve never believed in curses, demons or anything like that so this was a little out there for me. I mean, I want Supernatural but I don’t get all this possession stuff in real life… I don’t understand how people can convince themselves and others that this kind of stuff is real so what happened to Black blew my mind. Especially because so many of the people living in the town believed all that rubbish and were prepared to let this unbalanced man get away with anything. Well, they already had so what’s one more? All because they were doing “God’s work.” Even typing this now it still frustrates me.

Black had to put up with a lot of crap from these people. All because three of her friends died in horrible accidents that had nothing to do with her. I’m not even sure Black was there when they died… I can’t remember. I thought Black was brave, not only at the end of the book but also dealing with all the bullying and isolation her whole life. She stayed when it would have been so much easier to leave. I’m not sure the decision was up to her when she was a child but at the end it was.

This book wasn’t very long, under 300 pages, but I couldn’t get over how much happened. It was such a good book. I will have to get her other books one day.

*Thank you Penguin Random House New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

 

 

One thought on “Review: Black by Fleur Ferris.

Leave a Reply

