Review: Into the Water by Paula Hawkins.

Title – Into the Water
Author – Paula Hawkins
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 368 pages
Publication Date – May 2nd 2017 by Doubleday, imprint of Penguin Random House
ISBN – 9780857524430
My Rating – ★★★★/5

“In the last days before her death, Nel Abbott called her sister. Jules didn’t pick up the phone, ignoring her plea for help.

Now Nel is dead. They say she jumped. And Jules has been dragged back to the one place she hoped she had escaped for good, to care for the teenage girl her sister left behind. 

But Jules is afraid. So afraid. Of her long-buried memories, of the old Mill House, of knowing that Nel would never have jumped. 

And most of all she’s afraid of the water, and the place they call the Drowning Pool…”

I received a copy of Into the Water from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review. C-DYBinUMAAnxiVI loved The Girl on the Train so I was excited to read Paula’s second book.

Into the Water reminded me a lot of Broadchurch. Not the story itself. But if you’ve seen the show then you know that when a crime is committed in the town that pretty much every resident is a suspect. There are some exceptions, like the police and other residents. But in this book every resident of the town it’s set in was a suspect for me, even the police. It made the book so much better because I had no idea which character to trust.

This story is told in multiple perspectives and at the start I lost track of who some people were and who they connected to but the more I read the easier it got. Each character had their own connections to Nel and also had their own secrets which all eventually came out. Some of them were kind of shocking. At one point in the book I thought I had things all figured out and then this plot twist happened and that’s when I finally clicked. But it did take me longer than I’d like to admit.

Anyway, I don’t want to give anything away about the story or the characters so it’s really hard to review this. Because they’re all so connected to each other there’s not a lot I can say without giving things away and I really don’t want to do that.

I have really enjoyed both Into the Water and The Girl on the Train. Paula Hawkins has to be my new favourite mystery/thriller author. If you liked The Girl on the Train or enjoy a good mystery/thriller then I highly recommend reading Into the Water. I really hope Paula is going to write another book because her first two were so good.

*Thank you Penguin Random House for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: Into the Water by Paula Hawkins.

Leave a Reply

