Review: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel.

Title – The Roanoke Girls
Author – Amy Engel
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 288 pages
Publication Date – March 9th 2017
ISBN – 9781473648371
My Rating – ★★★★/5

“The Roanoke Girls seem to have it all. But there’s a dark truth about them that’s never spoken. Every girl either runs away, or dies. 

Lane is one of the lucky ones. When she was sixteen, over one long, hot summer at her grandparents’ estate in rural Kansas, she found out what it really means to be a Roanoke girl. Lane ran, far and fast. Until eleven years later, when her cousin Allegra goes missing – and Lane has no choice but to go back. 

She’s a Roanoke girl. But is she strong enough to escape a second time?”

I received a copy of The Roanoke Girls from Hachette New Zealand to review. This is C8Rpc5fVYAA4HF_Amy’s first book for adults.

This book was disturbing, creepy and so messed up but at the same time I couldn’t put it down. It was like watching a car crash, you don’t want to see it but for some reason you can’t look away. After the big secret about the Roanoke girls came out I was so disgusted and confused but I wanted to know how the story would end. Because throughout the book were also chapters in the perspectives of all the other Roanoke girls.

I do not understand these young women at all. Lane was different from the other Roanoke girls but I think that was because her mother ran away before she was born. So Lane wasn’t manipulated groomed like all the others from a young age. I know Lane didn’t think her mother loved her but I thought it was clear during the book, and especially after everything came out, that she did. She was just so broken from what happened and didn’t want Lane to know. She couldn’t show Lane the love she had for her because it was also twisted with what happened in her past. But her note to Lane proved it for me. She had a timeline she tried to stick to but it all became too much for her.

I didn’t like how Allegra treated people, especially her high school boyfriend. But at the same time I felt really bad for her, and all the other Roanoke girls. They all had it in their heads that they were willing and had free will, but did they really? I don’t think they did. It was so, so messed up, disturbing and completely wrong.

Anyway, even though The Roanoke Girls had a very gross twist to the story I still couldn’t put the book down. I just needed to know what happened to Allegra and what would happen to Lane. I liked Lane and felt bad that she had such a messed up family.

I don’t know what else to say. I liked it but at the same time this family was messed up. Like a train wreck just waiting to happen. It was a good book though and was written really well.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

6 thoughts on “Review: The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel.

Leave a Reply

