Review: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon.

Title – The Bone Season
Series – The Bone Season #1
Author – Samantha Shannon
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 560 pages
Publication Date – February 9th 2017 by Bloomsbury UK
ISBN – 9781408882528
RRP – $24.99
My Rating – ★★★★/5

“For the past two hundred years the Scion government has lead an oppressive campaign against unnaturalness in London.”

All forms of clairvoyance have been decreed as a criminal offence and the people who practice it are punished. Brutally. But a clairvoyant underworld has grown over the years, fighting persecution and evading capture.

Paige, a powerful dreamwalker, is leading a double life and using her gift illegally while also hiding it from her father, who works for the government.

I received a copy of The Bone Season from Bloomsbury Australia to review. This is the 5first book in The Bone Season series.

I loved the world in this book. I mean, it doesn’t sound like the best place to live, especially if you’re clairvoyant, but it’s completely different to the books I usually read. I did get all the different types of clairvoyants confused and all their auras at the beginning but the pamphlet, or whatever it is, at the start of the book helped.

I really liked Paige and a couple of members of the team that works for Jaxon. I can’t remember what they called themselves… But I couldn’t stand Jaxon. I get why Paige stayed working for him but at the same time I don’t understand how she put up with the way Jaxon treated people. Well, I don’t understand how all of them did when he treated them all like crap. But I guess it’s the devil you know right? Because when Paige was taken from them, all she wanted was to go back. It was the first place she was completely accepted as herself.

Speaking of Paige being taken, the big secret behind Scion was really surprising. I did not see that coming at all. But it was such a good twist to the story and had me wanting to know more. I was completely hooked.

The romance was a little surprising but kind of obvious at the same time. I mean, there were time when I thought more was going on between them but I thought I was reading too much into things. I did not think it would happen at all. But I am interested to see what, if anything, will happen between them in the next book.

I’ll have to get a copy of the next book, The Mime Order, soon because I really want to know what’s going to happen next. Especially after that ending.

I know I’m really late to the party but I loved The Bone Season. If you haven’t read this then I recommend it. I couldn’t put it down.

*Thank you Bloomsbury Australia for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon.

Leave a Reply

