Review: But Then I Came Back by Estelle Laure.

Title – But Then I Came Back
Author – Estelle Laure
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 320 pages
Publication Date – April 6th 2017 by Hachette Children’s Group
ISBN – 9781408342541
My Rating – ★★★/5

“Before the accident, Eden had life planned out. But when she comes back from a coma, the world is stranger and more magical than before. 

And when she meets Joe, with the melting chocolate eyes, she suddenly doesn’t have a plan at all.”

I received a copy of But Then I Came Back from Hachette New Zealand to review. C-SmSyvV0AAqQjc

This is not what I was expecting at all but I still enjoyed it. I liked that it sort of had a twist to the story and what happened to Eden and Jasmine. I’m not going to say anything else about it because spoilers.

I thought Eden’s family and friends gave her a hard time after she came home, expecting her to just jump back into where her life was before the coma when so many things had changed, including her. Yes, maybe she did stay in her room too long but there’s no need to be an ass about it. Eden wasn’t even sure the future she had planned out before was even possible now so I guess she was depressed and struggling to figure things out. I also think they were expecting too much out of Eden too soon.

I liked that the romance in But Then I Came Back wasn’t the main focus of the story. And I especially liked that Joe wasn’t bought into Eden’s life to fix her and put the pieces back together. I mean, I liked Joe. I just don’t like when it’s girl’s life is a mess, girl then meets boy, he’s apparently prince charming and fixes everything. It’s just not realistic. We don’t live in a Disney movie. People need help, I get it, but new relationships and hot guys aren’t necessarily the solutions.

Anyway, enough of my rant. I think this is a contemporary but don’t hold me to it. But Then I Came Back isn’t the kind of book I usually read but I did like it. I think it’s good to change things up every now and then. This is also the first book I’ve read by Estelle Laure. I might look up her other books one day.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

