Review: The End of Oz by Danielle Paige.

Title – The End of Oz
Series – Dorothy Must Die series #4
Author – Danielle Paige
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 304 pages
Publication Date – March 14th 2017 by HarperCollins
ISBN – 9780062660237
My Rating – ★★★/5

“My name is Amy Gumm. You might remember me as the other girl from Kansas. When a tornado whisked me away to the magical land of Oz I was given a mission – Dorothy must die. I thought I succeeded. 

But it turns out girls from Kansas are harder to kill than they look. 

The Road of Yellow Brick is leading me to the dark world of Ev, where I have a new, powerful enemy to deal with – the Nome King. And  – surprise! – he has a gingham-clad bride.

Now I have to escape the crumbling city, follow the road for answers, discover a way to be Good and Wicked. Before the end of Oz.” 

I received a copy of The End of Oz from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. This is theC-222H0WAAAADoV last book in the Dorothy Must Die series. I think.

This series has been predictable and really cheesy at times but I still found myself enjoying it. I haven’t read the novellas yet but I’m hoping to get to them soon.

I liked that Madison was in this book. I actually started to like her in Yellow Brick War. I liked that Amy and Madison’s friendship didn’t happen overnight and they still had their problems with each other but  Madison had put Amy through a lot in high school that she was still dealing with. But I think they’d make really good friends now that Madison has grown up a bit.

Nox annoyed me at the start of the Dorothy Must Die series but he’s definitely grown on me through the books. I think Amy changed the way he saw things, which is probably why I started to like him because he was really stubborn and bossy in the first couple of books.

The ending wasn’t what I was expecting at all. The whole series had been building up to something and so I was taken by surprise with how the book and series actually ended. It was still good though. Probably better than the ending I was expecting.

Speaking of the ending… I’d heard that this was the last book in the series but after reading the last page I’m really confused. I don’t want to give anything away though so I’m not going to say anymore.

Like I said at the start of my review, this series was predictable and sometimes a bit cheesy but I’ve enjoyed it. And I’m looking forward to reading the novellas soon. And I should probably read the original Wizard of Oz story too.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: The End of Oz by Danielle Paige.

Leave a Reply

