Review: Resurrection Bay by Emma Viskic.

Title – Resurrection Bay
Series – Caleb Zelic #1
Author – Emma Viskic
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 288 pages
Publication Date – February 1st 2017 by Echo
ISBN – 9781760406943
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Caleb has been profoundly deaf since he was a very young child and has always lived on the outside – watching, looking for hidden tells. When his childhood friend, Gary, is murdered, guilt and a determination to find out what really happened has Caleb hunting for the killer. But he can’t do it alone.

So Caleb and his friend, Frankie, start with the only clue they have, the last text Gary sent to Caleb – Scott. But whoever Scott is, he’s always one step ahead of them. And as Caleb is drawn deeper into the investigation, he learns things about Gary and himself.

I received a copy of Resurrection Bay from Bonnier Publishing Australia to review. This C_G4QWaV0AAadNEis the first book in a series.

I haven’t a crime/mystery book in what feels like a long time. I read a lot of psychological thrillers but that’s not really the same thing. I used to read these kinds of books all the time. Resurrection Bay had so many secrets and twists. It left me guessing to the end.

The main character, Caleb, is deaf. I don’t think I’ve read a lot of books in the perspective of someone who’s deaf. I know I read one recently, I think, but I can’t remember what it was… Anyway, this was really eye-opening to read in Caleb’s perspective. I really liked Caleb. He was willing to do anything to find out what happened to his friend. But I don’t think he realised what would happen when he started looking into Gary’s murder.

There are some really great characters in this book. I’ve already said I liked Caleb but I also liked his ex, I can’t remember her name, and Frankie. I’m hoping that they’re all in the next book.

Speaking of the next book… I saw on Goodreads that Resurrection Bay in the first in a trilogy/series, I’m not sure which. I don’t know when the next book is coming out but I’ll be keeping my eye out for it. There was a huge twist towards the end of the books and I really want to know how Caleb will handle that. Plus, I loved that Resurrection Bay was so full of twists that I was left guessing to the end of the book. That doesn’t happen often which is another reason I want to read the next book.

If you love crime/mystery books then I definitely recommend finding a copy of Resurrection Bay.

*Thank you Bonnier Publishing Australia for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: Resurrection Bay by Emma Viskic.

Leave a Reply

