Review: Silver Stars by Michael Grant.

Title – Silver Stars
Series – Soldier Girl series #2
Author – Michael Grant
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 496 pages
Publication Date – 01 March 2017 by Egmont
ISBN – 9781405287869
RRP – $19.99 AUD
My Rating – ★★★★/5

“The summer of 1943, World War 2. Three girls fiercely fighting their own battles in the midst of the greatest war of all time.”

The Nazi’s are not beaten, but they have been bloodied. With memories of combat still lingering, Rio, Frangie, Rainy and the Allied forces are moving onto their next target – Italy.

These young women aren’t heroes for fighting along with men – they’re soldiers. They’ll be brave in horrible conditions in an endless siege. They’ll fight to find themselves on the front lines. And they’ll come face to face with the brutality of war. No one will come out unscathed… But they all hope to be victorious.

I received a copy of Silver Stars from Hardie Grant Australia to review. This is the secondC_a66IGVYAAggSs book in the Soldier Girl series.

I really enjoyed the first book, Front Lines, when I read it a couple of months ago. These books are set in an alternate universe where women are allowed to fight in the armed forces for America.

Frangie, Rainy and Rio are the main characters and each of them have their own perspective in the book. I really like all of the three main characters and enjoy reading their stories. There is another character, Jenou who is Rio’s best friend, that I really like too. I wish she was in it more and had her own chapters though.

After the events in Front Lines each of these young women are preparing for another fight. But for some reason this book and what happened in it felt a lot worse for me than the events in Front Lines. Especially for Rainy. She was so brave and strong in Silver Stars. I don’t think she’s had the same training as Frangie and Rio, Rainy was trained more in intelligence work I think. But in Silver Stars she was put in an impossible position and it left her in an even worse place. It was horrible. But Rainy came through it. I’m definitely looking forward to finding out what’s next for Rainy.

Like I said, I felt like there was a lot more going on in Silver Stars than there was in the first book. But then again, Front Lines had to set up the story and they had to go through basic training. Now, they’re all soldiers in the army, fighting against the Nazis and their allies.

There was an author’s note at the end of the book which talked about why racism and a certain word was included in both books. I get why it’s been included, because of the time this series is set, but that doesn’t mean I like reading about racism or sexism. It just sucks that people are still having to deal with it today, over seventy years later. If you haven’t read the author’s not at the end of Silver Stars but have read both books then I recommend going and reading it.

So, I don’t normally read books set during the war or about people fighting in a war but I have really enjoyed both Front Lines and Silver Stars. If you like reading about the war, or even if you don’t, I’d recommend these books. There are some badass female characters in this series and I’m looking forward to finding out what’s next for each of them when the third book comes out.

*Thank you Hardie Grant for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

