Review: Perfect by Cecelia Ahern.

Title – Perfect
Series – Flawed #2
Author – Cecelia Ahern
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 432 pages
Publication Date – January 25th 2018 by HarperCollins Children’s Books
ISBN – 9780008125165
My Rating – ★★★★/5

“When we embrace our flaws, that’s when we can finally become perfect.”

Celestine lives in a country where perfection is expected, even demanded. So after Celestine was branded Flawed, her life fell apart and all her freedoms that she took for granted were taken away.

Judge Crevan has declared Celestine the number one threat to the public. She’s been on the run with Carrick, the guy she met before her trial. Carrick is one of the few people Celestine can trust. But Celestine is hiding a secret – one that has the power to bring the entire Flawed system down.

I received a copy of Perfect from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. This is the sequel C_0gKhTVYAEQV3Band conclusion to Flawed.

I really enjoyed the first book in this duology, even though it frustrated me. The whole Flawed system and Crevan drove me crazy. People like Crevan should not be in positions of power. Not only was he judging people Flawed and abusing the position he was in, but he was also Flawed. And the fact that he didn’t see, even at the end, that what he did to Celestine was wrong proves it.

Celestine was even stronger and braver in Perfect than she was in Flawed. She knew what needed to be changed and was prepared to risk everything to bring down a system that was actually flawed to change how the people who have been branded as Flawed are treated. But in bringing down the system it should stop the branding forever anyway.

I’m not sure how a government or country could let a system like that be put in place. Everyone on the planet has flaws, that’s what makes us human. We learn from the mistakes we make (most of us anyway) so not being able to make mistakes doesn’t make sense to me. In the eyes of the society in these book Celestine was Flawed for trying to save the life of a Flawed man… Not all the other people on the bus who just sat there while the man died. The one person who stepped up and said something, who actually tried to save a life, was branded as Flawed. Can you see why this system frustrated me from the start?

Anyway, I’m going to move on before I get so angry and I end up spoiling things. I really liked Celestine’s family. They were so willing to support her and what she was doing that they put themselves in Crevan’s way. Celestine being Flawed didn’t just change her life, it changed the lives of her whole family. But in the end I think it bought them closer.

I loved both Flawed and Perfect and if you haven’t read them yet then I highly recommend finding copies. I couldn’t put these down when I read them.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Perfect by Cecelia Ahern.

Leave a Reply

