Review: The Possible by Tara Altebrando.

Title – The Possible
Author – Tara Altebrando
How I Got It – From the publisher
Publication Date – June 1st 2017 by Bloomsbury UK
ISBN – 9781408885765
RRP – $18.99 NZD
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Thirteen years ago, Kaylee’s birth mother, Crystal, was given a life sentence for killing her son in a fit of rage. Crystal once had fifteen minutes of fame when she was a teenager for supposedly having telekinetic powers.

Kaylee is living a normal life with her adoptive parents and hardly ever thinks about Crystal. Until one day, a woman knocks on her door and asks to interview Kaylee about Crystal. Was all the telekinesis stuff fake, or does Crystal actually have powers? Does Kaylee have powers too? And if she does, will she follow her birth mother’s dark past?

I received a copy of The Possible from Bloomsbury Australia to review.

C__FPqHVoAI0akn

I wasn’t too sure what to expect when I started this book. I kind of went into it thinking this telekinesis stuff was all crap. But then I thought what if this is like Matilda? Because anything in fiction is possible. So I decided to keep an open mind.

It took me a while to get used to how this story was told. Like, Kaylee’s memories would sometimes interrupt whatever was happening in the moment. It was kind of annoying at the start but as I got used to it the less it bothered me and I eventually got used to it.

So at the start I did think all of the telekinesis stuff wasn’t real and that Crystal made it all up but then there was all of Kaylee’s memories and the things that happened around her and I wasn’t so sure anymore. I’m a very skeptical person so I didn’t know what was going on… And after the ending I am even more confused.

I found Kaylee very annoying. She was apparently in love with someone she didn’t know and had never even talked to. And according to her, he was in love with her too and just didn’t know it yet. What?? Kaylee went to school with the guy so she knew of him but she didn’t actually know him. There’s a huge difference. Then there was one of her best friends, Aiden, and the way he just shut Kaylee down when she mentioned these powers (even though I was skeptical) or how when she wanted to meet her birth mother and he was against it for some reason. He drove me crazy!

That makes it sound like I didn’t like The Possible. Annoying characters aside I really did enjoy this. I loved the mystery surrounding the telekinesis. And that ending!

If you enjoy a good mystery that leaves you questioning what the hell is going on then you should definitely find a copy of The Possible.

*Thank you Bloomsbury Australia for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: The Possible by Tara Altebrando.

  1. I’m kind of intrigued. I read her novel The Leaving a little while back and LOVED it–I also spent much of the story wondering where it was going, but felt it came together pretty well, so I’m keen to read more from her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

