Review: Release by Patrick Ness.

Title – Release
Author – Patrick Ness
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 288 pages
Publication Date – May 4th 2017 by Walker Books
ISBN – 9781406331172
My Rating – ★★★/5

Today, everything in Adam’s life is going to fall apart. But he doesn’t know it yet. Relationships in his life will change. Adam will change. Maybe Adam will find freedom in the release.

Time is running out. Across town a ghost has risen from the lake and leaves a trail of destruction in her wake.

I received a copy of Release from Walker Books Australia to review. I haven’t read a lot of DAJcPvzUIAAL7ddbooks by Ness but I think the Chaos Walking trilogy is still my favourite.

I’m going to just say this now. I loved Adam and his friends. His story made me angry at time (which I’ll get into soon) and I enjoyed reading about him. But the ghost? I just don’t get it. I hoped it would make sense at the end of the book but I was just left confused. I guess I must have missed something… I just didn’t get why the ghosts story needed to be told? And it wasn’t just the ghost. The whole other story was confusing. But like I said, I liked Adam’s chapters.

So the part of Adam’s story that made me so angry was his family. They’re religious and I think they knew about Adam but they had this don’t ask/don’t tell policy that I thought was ridiculous. Like, if they didn’t say anything it would just go away and they could “pray away the gay.” What?! I cannot get my head around that. The worst part, as if all that wasn’t bad enough, was that Adam’s family had him thinking that the love he felt for a guy in his life was wrong and he didn’t deserve to be loved in return. What kind of family screws their kid up like that? I really don’t understand some people.

I would have liked to see what happened to Adam a couple of months after the ending of the book but I guess I’ll have to live with how the book ended. Which was weird because of the ghost.

I liked Release. It’s not my favourite of Ness’s books but I didn’t hate it. I was just really confused. But if you’re a fan of Ness then you should definitely check it out.

*Thank you Walker Books Australia for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

2 thoughts on “Review: Release by Patrick Ness.

  1. I’m a bit on the er side of this one, I’m very hit or Miss with Ness’s writing sometimes I love the blur of contemporary and fantastical elements but sometimes they just sit funny for me. I don’t think your alone in you 3 stars it seems like a lot of people have been a bit underwhelmed. Atleast you loved the MC though and the cover is gorgeous XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

