Review: Pieces of You by Eileen Merriman.

Title – Pieces of You
Author – Eileen Merriman
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 333 pages
Publication Date – May 29, 2017 by Penguin New Zealand
ISBN – 9780143770473
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Rebecca has recently moved to a new city. Lonely and trying to make new friends, she decides to go to a party. And that’s where things start to fall apart.

Then Rebecca meets Cory and he helps her piece her life back together. Before he shatters it all over again…

I received a copy of Pieces of You from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review.

DCZjHKyUQAAjwEc

I haven’t read many books set in New Zealand so when I saw Pieces of You  was by a New Zealand author and set here too I had to read it.

Pieces of You focuses on some heavy topics, like sexual assault and cutting. I thought the author handled both well. But I’ve never experienced either personally. I had friends who used to cut themselves in high school so I do understand some of the reasons behind it.

I found this book really addictive and I didn’t want to put it down. I’m not going to judge Rebecca for the choices she made because I’ve never been in the horrible situation she was in at the start of the book. But I will say that I don’t agree with her reasoning. I don’t want to give anything away so I’m not going to say anything else about it. Other than what she did at the end, I thought that was amazing.

I kind of thought there was something going on with Cory, with all the sick days he was having, like depression or something. But it wasn’t really mentioned. I really liked Rebecca and Cory together so what happened came as a complete shock. I’ve actually been thinking about it since I finished the book. Cory has stayed with me for a couple of days now.

I was confused why Rebecca thought that being from Dunedin was a bad thing? I don’t think Dunedin is hicksville but that’s how Rebecca put it in one sentence. I’ve never been but I know people who live there. Maybe it was just because Auckland is a city? I don’t know. But I wouldn’t say Dunedin was hicksville…

Anyway, I really enjoyed Pieces of You. It was so addictive and I also loved that I’d been reading about somewhere I’ve actually been to for a change. I’ll be keeping an eye out for other YA books by Eileen. Hopefully she’ll write more.

*Thank you Penguin Random House New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

4 thoughts on “Review: Pieces of You by Eileen Merriman.

  1. You know I don’t think I’ve read a book set in NZ either which is a shame because its so under represented. I had this on my TBR for exactly that reason (and the covers so prettyyyy) but I didn’t realise it tackled heavy themes, moving it on my TBR for sure 🙂 Great review ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

