WWW Wednesday [June 21st 2017] –

download

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading – 11
I started Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray yesterday. I think this is the first book in a new trilogy/series. But I’m not really sure.

Anyway, this follows Noemi and Abel, who are from enemy planets, as they try to find a way to save Noemi’s planet, Genesis, from Earth. Or something like that. But Abel is a mech, the best mech ever made.

I think I’m 100 pages in and it’s okay. It’s not really holding my attention like her other trilogy did but I am liking it. I’m hoping it’ll pick up soon…

Recently Finished – 9
I read Ida a couple of days ago. I wasn’t really sure what to expect with this but I did end up liking it.

This follows Ida as she gets lost in another dimension and has to find her way back home.

Ida (the book) is full of diversity which I really liked but I wasn’t really into the story I guess. I don’t know. I’ll hopefully figure it out by the time I review it. Which will be soon I hope. I think I gave this three stars on Goodreads. I just wish some things in the book were explained more….. But that’s all I’m going to say here.

I read Pieces of You by Eileen Merriman over the weekend. It’s a YA novel set in New DCZjHKyUQAAjwEcZealand so that’s awesome. I hardly ever read books set here.

I actually posted my review of Pieces of You yesterday so I really don’t feel like repeating myself in this post. If you want to read my review then click the link here.

I will say that it had some heavy topics in the book, like sexual assault and cutting, but I thought they were both handled well. But if you can’t read those topics then stay away.

Anyway, I think this is a contemporary? I’m not really sure.

Reading Next –
16I think it’s about time I finally picked up Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh. I loved her other books, The Wrath and the Dawn and The Rose and the Dagger. The world in those books was so addictive and magical. When I heard Ahdieh was writing another book I knew I had to read it. I didn’t even care what it was about.

But, it does sound good and has another strong female lead. I think. I haven’t read it yet. I really hope I can finish Defy the Stars soon and start this.

And, look at that cover! It’s gorgeous!!

So that’s my WWW Wednesday for another week. What have you been reading lately?

– Aimee.

Leave a Reply

