Review: Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer.

Title – Letters to the Lost
Author – Brigid Kemmerer
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 393 pages
Publication Date – April 6th 2017 by Bloomsbury Children’s
ISBN – 9781408883525
RRP – $16.99 NZD
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Juliet has always written letters to her mother and now that her mother is dead, she leaves the letters at her grave. It’s the one thing that’s helping her to cope.

Declan is the kind of guy you don’t want to cross. One day, while he’s doing landscaping at the local cemetery for community service, Declan finds a letter and can’t resist writing back.

Soon, Declan is sharing his pain with a complete stranger. Except Juliet and Declan aren’t strangers. And when real life interferes with their letters, Juliet and Declan discover truths that may have the power to tear them apart.

I received a copy of Letters to the Lost from Bloomsbury Australia to review. This is theDBCMnD6UwAEVOpr second book by Kemmerer I’ve read and I have enjoyed both of them.

I don’t read a lot of contemporary. Or I didn’t used to. I’ve slowly been reading more lately. I think I might have to start reading contemporaries more often.

Anyway, I liked both Juliet and Declan. I was hoping they would end up together eventually. They seemed to have a lot more in common than they thought. They connected over the loss they’ve both experienced in their lives. And they were honest with each other, the way they haven’t been with the people they’re closest to. But then I guess it’s easier opening up to a stranger sometimes I guess.

There were a couple of secrets that came out about both Juliet and Declan’s families. Somehow, instead of making things worse in their lives it helps them. Which is a good thing. But usually when secrets come out they do more damage than good. I won’t say more here other than I really felt for both of them. Especially Declan.

I enjoyed the friendship between Declan and Rev. Rev’s family were really great too. I felt like they were more like brothers than friends. And the way Rev could get through to Declan when no one else could was great.

Letters to the Lost has been one of my favourite contemporaries. Not that I’ve read a lot. But for 2017 this is definitely one of the top ones I’ve read. I didn’t want to put it down. If you love contemporaries and a little romance then I recommend getting a copy of Letters to the Lost.

*Thank you Bloomsbury Australia for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

6 thoughts on “Review: Letters to the Lost by Brigid Kemmerer.

  1. _booksarelove 💕 says:

    Great Review!
    I have had this on my TBR for a while and I cannot wait to read it 🙂 I am glad that you enjoyed it!

    Happy Reading!
    Kim @ booksarelove

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

