WWW Wednesday [June 28th 2017] –

download

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. All you have to do is answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:
1. What are you currently reading?
2. What did you recently finish reading?
3. What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading – 19
Technically I haven’t started Beyond the Wall yet but I’ll be starting it later today. 

I don’t know much about the Roman Empire. Or anything really. Other than some things about the Roman gods. Beyond the wall is set in the Roman Empire and follows a slave, Cassia, as she flees from her master after injuring him in some way.

That’s pretty much all I know about it so far but I’m looking forward to reading it. It sounds good and I’m interested to read about a time I’ve never read before.

Recently Finished – DDH7x1cV0AAMoXt
I finished Flame in the Mist last night and I really enjoyed it. I have enjoyed Renee’s previous two books so I was hoping to like this one too. I’m really glad I did.

I saw this being promoted (not sure that’s the right word??) as a Mulan retelling. I haven’t seen Mulan but from what I do know of it I wouldn’t say Flame in the Mist is a retelling. I think the only things they have in common is the main characters dressing up as boys.

But that’s not the reason I wanted to read this book so I wasn’t disappointed. I’ll be reviewing Flame in the Mist soon so I don’t want to say too much here. I will say that I really enjoyed it and I cannot wait for the next book. That ending!!! 11

I also finished Defy the Stars this week. I’ve wanted to read a good sci-fi for a while now. This didn’t really live up to my expectations but it wasn’t bad. I did like the story and the characters, Noemi and Abel. It just took me awhile to get used to the ‘romance’ or whatever it was between them. Because Abel is a machine… But I’ll get into that more in my review. When I can get my thoughts together.

I did like this and I might check out the next book. I’m not sure yet. The ending of Defy the Stars didn’t leave me in a place where I was like “I need the next book now!” but I do kind of want to know what’ll happen to Genesis

7

Reading Next –
I recently received a copy of Midnight Jewel from Penguin Random House New Zealand to review. Which is the sequel to The Glittering Court. I haven’t actually read this yet so I’m planning on reading it next.

I can’t remember what this is about. Something about the main character running away for a marriage or something like that… I guess I’ll find out when I pick it up.

So my reading this week was kind of crap. And by crap I mean I didn’t read much. Not that the books were crap because they weren’t. How was yours?

– Aimee.

 

Leave a Reply

