Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon.

Title – When Dimple Met Rishi
Author – Sandhya Menon
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 384 pages
Publication Date – July 13th 2017 by Hodder
ISBN – 9781473667402
My Rating – ★★★/5

“Meet Dimple – Her main aim in life is to escape her traditional parents, get to university and begin her plan for tech world domination.

Meet Rishi – He’s rich, good-looking and a hopeless romantic. His parents think Dimple is the perfect match for him, but she’s got other plans…

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.”

I received a copy of When Dimple Met Rishi from Hachette New Zealand to review. DEaJwTYUQAATn49

I was really excited to read this because so many people had said good things about this book. But I just found it too predictable, a little annoying in places and way too cheesy for me.

I mean, they synopsis on the back of the book clearly spells out what’s going to happen between Dimple and Rishi. I thought I’d like Dimple, she seemed to smart and determined to put her career first. But the way she judged people who had money, or their parents did, was really annoying to me. I’m not rich but I don’t think all the people who have money are awful people. The way Dimple talked it seemed like she did. Okay, so these “Aberzombies” (such a ridiculous name!!) were asshats, well the guys were, but why make such a big deal out of them, why not just ignore them and do your own thing instead of just bitching about them so often. I did like that Dimple didn’t care what others thought of her and didn’t like to put on make-up all the time but saying that once would have been enough.

Dimple was also really focused on this app she wanted to build or whatever you do with apps. But after she met Rishi it just seemed to be mostly about them and their dates and whatever. This app apparently meant a lot to her but it wasn’t really mentioned much.

Then there was Rishi. His optimism just really got to me. I don’t know how he could be so optimistic all the time. I’ve a very pessimistic person so I just couldn’t handle it. And the fact that he was still so young but so ready for marriage… What? I don’t know if it’s a cultural difference but I’m still not ready or interested in marriage and I’m not eighteen. I mean, he was so young. Go, live! Got to college, travel! But then, that’s just me I guess.

I loved that this had representation and I learned things about another culture but aside from that When Dimple Met Rishi was really not for me. Like I said, I found it way too predictable and cheesy.

*Thank you Hachette New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

8 thoughts on “Review: When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon.

  1. Completely agree with this review. Dimple was really annoying to me and I didn’t like how she responded to the Aberzombies or whatever. And I wanted to learn more about coding!! But alas, it really was just all about Dimple and Rishi. Sad .

    Like

    • Well, the synopsis should have given us warning, it did say something about love between Dimple and Rishi.
      I was disappointed it didn’t live up to the hype for me.

      Like

  2. Ooooh I have seen a few reviews like this now. It’s funny how at first you hear all these amazing things and they’re all 5 star reviews…sometimes I wonder if some people are too afraid to voice how they really feel about the book? But then I guess there are people who do love the cheeziness and the predictability (these 2 things are why I never read Nicholas Sparks). Anyway, thank you for the honest review, great job!!

    Like

    • There are some Nicholas Sparks books I like (sometimes I like cheesy) but he’s the only one I’ve been able to handle it from. I have no idea why….
      I mean, if you’re not going to be honest about a book your reviewing then why review it? Not everyone has the same taste in books and obviously there are a lot if people that loved When Dimple Met Rishi but it just wasn’t for me. Why not be honest?
      Thank you!! 😘

      Like

  3. El says:

    I’ve seen so many reviews for this one!
    I must read it soon!

    I gave your Twitter a follow! 🙂

    Would you mind checking out my book reviews blog at El’s Book Reviews and possibly give it a follow? Super excited to read your posts!

    – El

    Like

    • Hi, sorry I didn’t see your comment till now, ot was in my spam folder?

      Anyway, what’s your twitter and I’ll follow you back? I can’t follow your blog because it’s on bloglovin and I don’t have an account on there.

      Like

  4. Em says:

    I’ve seen so many mixed reviews for this book! When I first heard about it I thought I might enjoy it, but the more I hear about it the more I think I would probably not be able to get through it.
    And all that optimism is so annoying. Ugh I always feel like people like that are trying to hide something….. or just have been wayyy to shielded their entire lives…. but they annoy me so much. 😬😬😬😬

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

