Review: Sea by Sarah Driver.

Title – Sea
Series – The Huntress trilogy #1
Author – Sarah Driver
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 336 pages
Publication Date – April 6th 2017 by Egmont Books Ltd
ISBN – 9781405284677
My Rating – ★★★/5

Ever since Mouse’s mother died, she’s looked out for her little brother, Sparrow. She’s also been dreaming of when she’ll be captain of The Huntress.

But now her father is missing, Sparrow’s in danger and a deadly cold is creeping across the world…

I received a copy of Sea from Hardie Grant Egmont Australia to review. This is the first book in The Huntress trilogy. DEpiDAsV0AI_pxh

It took me a while to get used to the way Mouse and the other characters talked in this book. Some of the things they said were a little weird at first but once I got used to it I didn’t really notice it.

I think this book may have been a little bit too young for me. I mean, I’ve read middle grade books before but I just didn’t click with this the way I have other middle grade books. I mean, I liked the book but I did have some issues with Mouse and Sparrow. Mouse was very stubborn and seemed to think a lot of herself while Sparrow was too whiney for me. Especially because Mouse and their grandmother treated him like a baby a lot and I just can’t stand whining children.

I did find the story interesting though, with this cold or ice or whatever it was that was taking over the world. I think if I hadn’t found Mouse and Sparrow so annoying I would have liked this book more. I did like the magic in the story and it kind of reminded me a little of Northern Lights so I think fans of Philip Pullman may enjoy this.

I am interested in finding out what will happen to Mouse and the rest in the next book. I think it’s called Sky.

*Thank you Hardie Grant Egmont for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

 

Leave a Reply

