Review: Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff.

Title – Godsgrave
Series – The Nevernight Chronicles #2
Author – Jay Kristoff
How I Got It – From the publisher
Pages – 437 pages
Publication Date – September 7th 2017 by Harper Voyager UK
ISBN – 9780008180041
My Rating – ★★★★/5

Mia is now a Blade of Our Lady of Blessed Murder, but not everyone in the Red Church thinks she earned it.

After a deadly confrontation with an enemy, Mia starts to wonder what the Red Church is really doing. So when an opportunity for revenge presents itself, Mia defies the Church and sells herself into slavery with the hope of fulfilling the promise she made the day she lost everything.

In the arena, Mia finds new allies, more rivals and even more questions about her connection to the shadows. As conspiracies unfold and secrets are revealed the body count starts to rise. And Mia will be forced to choose between loyalty and revenge.

I received a copy of Godsgrave from HarperCollins New Zealand to review. This is the second book in The Nevernight Chronicles. You can read my review of the first book, DNVuHM4VwAA5F-5Nevernight, here.

I really enjoyed Godsgrave. Mia is on a different path in this book but still has the same goal – vengeance for her family. There were so many things that came out this the book. Things about Mia’s family and the Red Church. Which has Mia going behind the Church’s back and trusting someone she isn’t sure she can actually trust.

Speaking of that person, I wasn’t really sure what to think of them helping Mia. Or if they were actually helping her and not just setting her up. I didn’t like what they did in Nevernight but at the same time they were helping Mia when they didn’t have to. Although I think they made some kind of deal at the start of the book but I’m not 100% sure…

I really liked the new characters in Godsgrave. Well, most of them anyway. There was one guy at this college place where Mia was who drove me nuts. But I liked all the other  gladiatii, especially Bryn, Bladesinger and Sidonius. Then there was this weird dark thing that Mia encountered at the start of the book. I didn’t know what to think about that thing… But what happened at the end of the book? What the hell was that? How can you just leave it there!! Oh my god.

I can’t do a review of Godsgrave and not mention the narrator. I actually love whoever’s telling this story just because of their sarcasm. I don’t care who it is anymore. I just love how they’re telling the story. I know some people don’t like the footnotes but I enjoy them just as much as the story.

I cannot wait for the next book to come out! That twist at the end was so good! Well, there was more than one twist at the end… But they were all so bloody good! If you haven’t read Nevernight and Godsgrave then you’re really missing out.

*Thank you HarperCollins New Zealand for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff.

Leave a comment