Review: Truthers by Geoffrey Girard.

Title – Truthers
Author – Geoffrey Girard
How I Got It – From the publishers
Pages – 360 pages
Publication Date – August 1st 2017 by Carolrhoda Lab
ISBN – 9781512427790
My Rating – ★★/5

“Katie Wallace has never given much thought to 9/11. She was only a year old when terrorists struck American soil. But now her dad has landed in a mental institution after claiming to know what really happened. He insists the attacks were part of a government conspiracy. And he claims that Katie is living proof: the lone survivor of a massive cover-up.

Hoping to free her dad, Katie sets out to investigate his bizarre claims. Soon she’s drawn into the strange and secretive world of 9/11 conspiracy theorists known as the -Truthers.

Wading through a dangerous web of fact and fiction, questions and distortion, Katie no longer knows what to believe. But she does know that she’s being followed and that someone is determined to stop her search for the truth.” Untitled

I received a copy of Truthers from Walker Books Australia. I don’t even know where to start with this review. I’m months behind with my reviews and this is the first one I chose to catch up with. So please bear with me as I muddle through this and try to remember what I thought about this book when I read it last year.

Anyway, Truthers didn’t make a very good impression on me. I did manage to finish the book but the plot seemed so crazy I can’t even remember why I wanted to read it. I don’t want to go into all the ways the author talked about Muslims (like they’re all terroists and extremists.) A lot of the people who read this book probably don’t remember 9/11 and this will not help them understand what happened. it feeds into the conspiricy thoeries and then the way Muslims are talked about. I really just wanted to put it down but I felt I had to finish it as it was a review book.

I am so glad that I didn’t pay for a copy of this book. And not just because of what I said above but the writing just wasn’t for me either. I’m pretty sure this is meant to be a YA novel but it reads more like a book for younger readers. Not sure I’d want kids reading this though, with all the conspiriacy thoeries and the use of the phrase “radical Islamic terrorist.”

I know it’s been months since I read this but I can’t find myself wanting to recommend this to anyone. Or wanting to read another book by this author. This book has really put me off any other books by Girard.

*Thank you Walker Books Australia for sending me a copy to review*

– Aimee.

One thought on “Review: Truthers by Geoffrey Girard.

Leave a comment